EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/)
-   Water / Methanol Injection / Nitrous Oxide (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/water-methanol-injection-nitrous-oxide-173/)
-   -   meth corrosive to aluminum (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/water-methanol-injection-nitrous-oxide/290189-meth-corrosive-aluminum.html)

lemmonhead Aug 18, 2007 04:07 PM

meth corrosive to aluminum

im new to this methonal injection thing, I have read from a few places that its corrosive to alluminum coating which protects it from oxidation.
straight from wikipedia..
One of the drawbacks of methanol as a fuel is its corrosivity to some metals, including aluminium. Methanol, although a weak acid, attacks the oxide coating that normally protects the aluminium from corrosion:

6 CH3OH + Al2O3 → 2 Al(OCH3)3 + 3 H2O

anyone like to comment on it.

SlowCar Aug 18, 2007 04:44 PM

the reaction is a slow one

the wetting/drying seen by UICP/intank mani is not a concern at all.

lemmonhead Aug 18, 2007 05:09 PM

but what if say after you drive your car and was in boost a lot and used the meth injection. You get home shut off your car but some of it is still left inside the piping and even in the chamber itself. So letting it sit for 8 or more hrs.
wouldn't that be enough time for the chemical reaction to take place.

SlowCar Aug 18, 2007 05:15 PM

tell you what, when i get to work monday morning, i'll soak a piece of aluminum foil in methanol and see at the end of they day, how much is "eaten" away.

lemmonhead Aug 18, 2007 06:06 PM

just dont do it inside your house, dont want ya to be dead.
aluminum is a funny metal, reacts with all kinds of stuff
I remember adding ferric chloride to it ( just a drop) HOLY Cow!!!!!!!!!!!!