Notices
Evo Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Evo 9 3" Brake Duct Solution w/ Integrated Underpanel

Search this Thread

Old Jun 6, 2014, 07:24 PM
Evolving Member

Received 5 Likes on 3 Posts
Evo 9 3" Brake Duct Solution w/ Integrated Underpanel

So I've been having some brake over heating issues lately at the track, and figured it was time to put some cooling ducts in. Talking to people most agreed that 2" is just not worth even bothering with, so go 3" or nothing. Given that there is no available 3" solution as far as I can tell, it was time to invent something new. Also being an aerospace engineer by trade I am a bit over obsessed with aerodynamics, so I've been wanting to put in an underpanel for a while. Figured it would be neat if I could incorporate these into a single piece.

Starting with the brake ducts, I had to draw up and make a set of nozzles since nothing exists for 3" ducting. This wasn't actually too difficult once you get the flange pattern down, as a piece of 3" exhaust pipe along with quite a few hours of hammering and reshaping made a nice nozzle that fits 3" duct just right. If anyone is interested in a set PM me for a price as I kept all the drawings and patterns and could rebuild these again without too much trouble. I actually trimmed off about a half inch or so from the nozzles shown which helped getting the hose to reach on full outside lock and not crunch up as bad at full inside lock.

As of hose routing you can see kind of what I did in the pictures. Obviously had to trim the splash guards on each side, and also bent back one of the oil cooler lines a bit to make the hose clear being very careful not to kink it at all. I think I am going to throw a little heat wrap and duct tape around the sections of hose that could rub on something as the wheels turn to keep them from abrading. Hopefully get that done this weekend.