Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Transfer Case & Rear Diff Fluid bleeding concern

Search this Thread

Old Nov 21, 2010, 11:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Transfer Case & Rear Diff Fluid bleeding concern

I just purchased a 2008 Evo GSR with 28k miles. Im planning to do the 30k service soon. I have been searching and reading all the threads about bleeding the ACD/AYC systems after fluid changes, and wether or not it is required. So far it seems that no one knows for sure. Im a master auto tech for a living, and from looking at the service manual and how the ACD/AYC systems are set up heres what I think. From the way the fluid exchange procedures are described in the manual it looks like the drain and refill just replaces the fluid that the clutches sit in, and in any case is not a pressurized system, so there is always going to be a pocket of air above the fill plug. Therefore I think that unless the fluid pump, or lines in the back of the vehicle are replaced there is no need to bleed the system. What do you guys think on this matter?
Old Nov 21, 2010, 12:01 PM
Evolved Member

Received 17 Likes on 15 Posts
There are two types of fluid systems in the X transfer case and rear differential, hydraulic that need bleeding and simple drain/fill. The hydraulic systems do not need bleeding/flushing/changing at 30k, but you will want to do the drain/fill fluids (see below).

Transfer case: Diaqueen 90W LSD
Rear differential: Diaqueen 90W LSD and Diamond ATF SP III

You'll want to do the transmission too, my recomendation is Redline since the stock GL-3 sucks (IMO). Redline just came out with MT-85 which would probably be good, otherwise you can go with the Redline cocktailX (2xMTL & 1xMT90)

Last edited by Kracka; Nov 21, 2010 at 12:03 PM.
Old Nov 21, 2010, 12:10 PM