Notices
09+ Lancer Ralliart General Discuss any generalized technical factory turbocharged Ralliart related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Basic Questions from a new RA owner

Search this Thread

Old Aug 16, 2010, 04:31 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Basic Questions from a new RA owner

Thanks to all in advance for any help. I just bought a 2010 RA. This is my first nice/new/kickass car, and I want to take care of her properly but also had a few questions, as I am new to owning a turbo charged car, and have never had anything with 2 clutches in it before.

1.) What RPMs should I be shifting at for the best fuel economy? When I am in automatic (normal) mode, the car seems to shift at around 3000 for 2nd, and 3rd gear. Is this normal? At times I also notice that it will rev even higher on 2nd gear, one time at 4000 (not sure if this depends on how I am accelerating, but at the time I was going slowly) Sometimes I hit the paddles while in automatic mode to shift from 2nd to 3rd at around 2500 RPM bc I thought it would put less strain on the engine and save gas. Also is it ok to be using the paddles when in automatic mode? I know it allows you to, but didnt know if it had any damaging effects.

2.) Does anyone know a way to change the color of the lights for the radio and temperature controls? The red is ok but I was kind of hoping to change them to blue as to match the exterior of the car.

3.) The radio unit seems to be an award setup that doesn't look to friendly for modification, has anyone attempted to install an aftermarket GPS/DVD display in their RA?

4.) What basic tips does anyone have for extending the life of the turbo and engine besides regular dealer maintenance.

Thanks again to all who take the time to respond, it is much appreciated
Old Aug 16, 2010, 04:40 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by JohnnyZee83