Notices
ECU Flash

Rich idle/cruise AFRs

Search this Thread

Old Oct 10, 2013, 05:52 AM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Rich idle/cruise AFRs

I just starting digging in to ECUFlash and EvoScan with my Open Port 2.0 cable a few days ago. I've had experience with DSMLink back in the day, but this is my first time tuning an evo. I loaded Tephra V7 and started scaling the MAF at low end (closed loop).

I have an odd issue where idle and cruise afrs read a little rich. This has been the case since before I started tuning. The wideband reads between 13.8 and 14.5, and the ecu reads 14.0 to 14.8 roughly. My evo has an open K&N filter on stock intake tube, evo ix bov, and 3" TBE with no cat. I assumed scaling the maf should adjust these values, but they have not changed. My fuel trims are pretty close to 0 (< 5%), so I think that is ok. I looked at the fuel tables and they are stock at the moment. I'm not sure what else to check. Any ideas?

Also, on cold starts, afrs seem a bit leaner. Wideband reads in the low 15's and ecu reads similar. Once it is warmed up, idle gets back down to ~800 rpm and idle is same as above.

List of mods are K&N open filter, 3" TBE with no cat, and mbc set at around 21psi. Otherwise the car is a stock 03 evo 8.
Old Oct 14, 2013, 05:53 AM
Evolving Member

Anyone? I'm going to do boost leak and exhaust leak checks.
Old Oct 14, 2013, 02:05 PM
Evolving Member

I ran some seafoam in the car today to see for exhaust leaks. Absolutely no smoke except for out the end of the exhaust. However, after burning off all the seafoam and changing the oil, it appeared that idle afr's went lean about .2 points on average. I didn't log yet, but I'll log tomorrow on the way to work. Next up is checking for boost leaks.
Old Oct 15, 2013, 05:26 AM
Evolving Member

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts