Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Can't afford my EVO right now, is it worth it to refinance?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 29, 2010, 07:13 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can't afford my EVO right now, is it worth it to refinance?

So, I was doing ok paying for my 06 until I graduated from school. I went to school for film, and have been pursuing since the second I graduated. After 4 months I moved to Brooklyn to pursue to the fullest, and have been here ever since. Things are goin good, but I'm afraid realistically I won't really be making much money for probably a year, as I am training to become a DIT (Digital Imagine Tech/Camera Tech for short). Between insurance, rent, loans, everything else I'm basically making as much money in a month as my bills.... but that was also due to a 30+ hr/wk internship which kept me from a lot of work, which will be up next week. So I will be able to work a lot more, but I'm still scared of not being able to afford my $450/mo payment.

I owe 18k on the car still which is great I think for an 06 SE w/ 26k miles, since I couldn't buy another one for nearly that good of a deal, so it's so hard to give it up knowing I'd be losing out, and that I'd have to start over with getting an EVO that won't be "mine". I bought it 18 months ago, with 6k on her, so she was basically new.

So, I was thinking of refinancing the car since it's only a 60 month loan, but, according to my bank's website, 60 months is the maximum...so I don't know what I'm gonna do. Another downfall is that my dad is now on disability, and so my parents cannot/will not co-sign like they did on this car, so I can't really apply for a new loan with another bank.