Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Newbie Buying Salvage Evo Mr 40K (Need Info)

Old Feb 12, 2019, 05:02 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie Buying Salvage Evo Mr 40K (Need Info)

Hey Guys,
Hooe you all are doing well. Just wanted to introduce myself. I love cars and have owned a 2007 STI with Stage 2 couple years back. I sold the car due to personal reasons. I always wanted to buy an Evo and finally this month i started looking for the car. I am a newbie when it comes to Evo but there is a guy who is selling a 2014 Mitsubishi Evo MR with 40K mile. It has a salvage title. The car had left suspension & front bumper damage. I will post the pics below.

Questions :-
1) The guy is asking 18K. I don't think the Salvage title car is worth that price. From your experience what should be the correct price ?. The guy stated that he has fixed everything and been driving for the past year since he bought the car from the auction house
2) Later down the road, i am just planning to go to Stage 2. Is that bad for MR ?
3) Why people will prefer GSR vs MR ?
4) Is it true that the SST transmissions can only hold 349 LB of torque ?
5) Is SST transmission expensive to fix as compare to GSR ?
6) If it was your, will you buy a salvage stock car with 40K miles on it for 18K ? What is the reasonable price for the car ?
7) Any input for me before i test drive the car ?

2014 Evo MR 40K miles

Suspension Damage
Old Feb 12, 2019, 06:58 AM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Hey welcome aboard

Im a 9 owner so not too comfortable on giving advice on the X. The salvage title doent bother me too much. At least you have the before pic showing some of the damage
Curious if all the air bag modules were replaced?

Have seen many guys posting up on the SST trans but dont know much about it

Keep us posted on your search
Old Feb 12, 2019, 07:48 AM
EvoM Community Team Leader