Notices
Evo X How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

Racing Pedals Install

Search this Thread

Old Mar 1, 2008, 05:06 PM
UFO
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Racing Pedals Install

I'm sure we all know how to use a drill, so I'm not going to bore you with the details of how to drill a hole. I'm not very good at it anyway.... This is more a warning of a few hurdles you might encounter.

Tools you need:
Corded drill (trust me on this one, the battery powered ones last for 1 pedal or so)
Phillips head screwdriver
1/16" drill bit (for pilot holes in gas pedal)
3/16" drill bit
9mm wrench
Center punch

I bought my pedals from here: http://www.srpracing.com/ and this is what you get:

The dead pedal is actually a prototype and at the time of writing this it doesn't fit correctly (although it's very close). That issue should be sorted out in a week or two and it's nice piece that will finish up the look. The allen key is included and there's a spare screw and nut/screw. I have no affiliation with these guys and paid the same hard earned cash you fellas will if you buy them.

OK, so first we'll tackle the accelerator. Slip the cover off and WTF?

Weirdest looking accelerator pedal ever. The whole pedal is plastic too. You can not use the 4 corner holes as 2 of them would be off the pedals.

So, get some nice green masking tape over the pedal, line it up, and use a black sharpie to mark the hole locations.

You should be able to see which holes I used in the final picture but you can use any of the holes available. I was only able to drill the bottom left hole with the pilot drill as I just couldn't maneuver the drill for the others. The drill hits the center console which is a bummer. However, you can simply screw the self tapping screws in, without pilot holes, with a fair amount of effort, which is what I did.