EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community

EvolutionM - Mitsubishi Lancer and Lancer Evolution Community (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/)
-   Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/evo-x-tires-wheels-brakes-suspension-259/)
-   -   Hypermax, KW v3 or Mono Flex with EDFC (https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/evo-x-tires-wheels-brakes-suspension/555886-hypermax-kw-v3-mono-flex-edfc.html)

agent007 May 14, 2011 01:11 PM

Hypermax, KW v3 or Mono Flex with EDFC

Hi guys,
I would like to change a suspension in my EVO (X MR Touring)and lower it about 1''. Also I would like to install a new wheels. I'm thinking about one of these:

1. HKS Hypermax III
2. KW V3
3. TEIN Mono Block with EDFC

To one of the above I would like to fit 18x9.5 Rota Grid - Hyper Black (5x114,3/ e20/ 73)
- but if it comes to the details - I'm an amateur.

Can anyone of you recommend me a good place that could take care of this ? I mean replace the suspension, and wheels? near to Frisco or DFW area (TX)?

ps. Can anyone tell me which of mentioned suspensions are most for DD. I would like to keep comfort level close to the stock, but also better performance on weekends track.

Thank you in advance and appreciate your help and comments.

lannym May 14, 2011 02:17 PM

All three will fit fine with that wheel size. Have you chosen a tire to go with the wheel? Are you going to run the same wheel/tire setup for your track days? How often do you plan to track? If you're tracking with the Rotas, have you considered the Enkei RPF1? They're about 3.5lbs lighter..

The KWs will be the most comfortable for DD and do well at the track as well. The Robispec
version is valved and sprung specifically for the X. The HKS will feel a little stiffer for DD but tracks pretty well. The Tein Mono Flex with EDFC can go from fairly soft for DD to rock hard for track right from the seat, which beats having to **** around with knobs on the struts.