Notices
EvoM New Member / FAQs / EvoM Rules New member? Come on in, introduce yourself, and get acquainted with the evolutionm.net posse :) FAQs will also be answered in here.

Newbie here from Cali, looking to build an Evo any insights?

Search this Thread

Old May 6, 2018, 05:07 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Newbie here from Cali, looking to build an Evo any insights?

Hi! I am from Cali and have been thinking for a while on building an Evo. I recently posted in the general forums on building an Evo 9, but after reading a bit it seems to cost a lot. I have resources from a shop as they would help me build the Evo and I would be too ( Friend's family owns the shop). So would it be better to buy a shell, get it to run and just leave at that or wait longer until I get more money to just buy one. Any insights are appreciated. Thanks!
The following users liked this post:
MinusPrevious (May 6, 2018)
Old May 6, 2018, 06:02 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Thanks for posting up.

Based on your comments regarding funding the build, it would be less expensive to buy a running or at least one that has all the drivetrain components.

Later, down the road, when more funds are avail, it would be quite rewarding to start w/a shell & doing a full rotisserie restoration type build

Just my .02
Icyjup (May 6, 2018)
Old May 6, 2018, 06:51 PM

In that case I should look for an Evo 8 instead of the Evo 9 right? Or if I am able to buy a shell that came out of a part-out that should be fine? I'm trying to work with a 15k budget.
Old May 6, 2018, 06:55 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Well, if youve got 15K, yes the 8 would be a better choice. You can find one w/some mechanical issues for less than 15K. Consider it a long term project?

I obviously dont know all your details, but an 8 is less monies these days than the 9. You may have seen that EvO prices are a bit on the rise. Premiums being asked for EvOs w/low miles & high in mods