Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

Knock from bad gas?

Search this Thread

Old Oct 10, 2005, 07:55 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Knock from bad gas?

My check engine light has been flashing (knock) in 4th or 5th when full boost kicks in. I filled up with Shell 93 and I'm wondering if they gave me some bad gas. Has anybody had this problem with Shell?

BTW, knock barely ever goes above 15 and boost is not spiking. It must be the gas. What's up with Shell?
Old Oct 12, 2005, 10:17 AM
j8
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by evotino
My check engine light has been flashing (knock) in 4th or 5th when full boost kicks in. I filled up with Shell 93 and I'm wondering if they gave me some bad gas. Has anybody had this problem with Shell?

BTW, knock barely ever goes above 15 and boost is not spiking. It must be the gas. What's up with Shell?
I am no expert, but the cooler weather we have been seeing will make the car run a little leaner. You may need to remove some timing or add a little gas in the cells you are seeing knock. 15 is actually pretty low from my knowledge. Does not sound like much to worry about.
Old Oct 12, 2005, 02:53 PM
Evolved Member

Location: Work - New York, Alaska, Mexico or the Caribbean. -Home - Tx Hill Country

Along ths same lines as Jason, what boost are you running and what are you using to control it?
Old Oct 12, 2005, 07:51 PM
Evolving Member

When I said knock usually doesn't go above 15, I meant before I started seeing the CEL. I just got a new tank at Chevron and I'm having the same problem. In 4th or 5th gear, 2/3 or more throttle, and as boost peaks I get knock. The highest value I saw was over 100.

My boost is set at 1.5 and the highest peaks I'm recording are 1.55. I'm using the Apexi boost controller...the one that comes with the Power FC package.
Old Oct 12, 2005, 08:21 PM
j8
Evolving Member