Notices
General Engine Management / Tuning Forum Discuss general EMS tuning concepts that do not pertain to a specfic brand or product.

Need some advice

Search this Thread

Old May 31, 2017, 11:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need some advice

So im rather new to evos, I bought a 2003 gsr a while ago from a salvage auction so I had never met the previous owner to know what had been done to the car. When I had got it, the car was running 29psi, being that the evo was my car to get back and forth from school and work I turned it down with a hbc that was on the car(to 23psi). Recently I got the car dynod at a dyno day and the numbers were pretty disappointing. With max hp being 227 and max tq being 254. I found this hp number to be pretty low(adjusting for it being a mustang dyno would bring it around 255hp, closer to a stock number). Another thing I noticed that was off, was that having more torque than horsepower is not a characteristic of a turbocharged car...Could the car possibly be tuned for 29psi and thats why its running like this? Should I be running it at 29psi? I had talked to someone who has a 500hp evo saying I should do a couple more mods and get it retuned. My thoughts were intercooler, LICP, and downpipe(already has intake and exhaust), then taking it to stm to be tuned. Not really sure what to do with the car, or keep it safe and drive it how it is right now since it shows safe afr readings while in college? I would like it to make around 300+ whp which I feel is manageable. Any advice would be fantastic. Thanks

This is a link to the first dyno run:
Dyno Sheet below: