Notices
Lancer General Come on in and discuss the US Lancer.

Everyone Should Read This!!

Search this Thread

Old Nov 27, 2002, 09:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Everyone Should Read This!!

ok ok...so this maybe slightly off topic but its damn worth it. I stumbled apon this topic at hardforums.com and it broke my heart to read it. For all you ppl who like racing on crowded roads take this into consideration.

Listen up...

Tonight was one of the most shocking nights I have ever had. Some of you may know I'm a volunteer firefighter. I don't get to ride in the cool fire-truck, I'm stuck driving a 99 F-250 "Emergency Response Team" truck (carries the other diver and I and all of the medical/diving/fire/EMS equipment). Anyway we were on our way back from a small kitchen fire when we got behind a semi ricey Eclipse GS-X a pretty ricey Accord V6 and a Camaro RS (this is on a 4 lane road). Now the ****ers had been racing each other light to light and swerving past all slower traffic. So once we got behind them we were going to radio in their plates but before we could the light turned green and off they went.

About maybe a quarter mile ahead was a mini-van (Dodge I beleive) that had turned the way they were going. The Accord in the far right lane was being blocked by the mini van so decided to cut off on the shoulder and attempt to pass the van. Well the rumble strip sort of pulled the car further to the right more the he expected I guess and he cut back left throwing himself infront of the mini-van and Camaro. The 3 racers had to be doing about 80 by now, but the Accord went sideways into the van and then continued on into the Camaro and then into the cement median doing 83 (what the spedo was stuck at we later found). The van ended up rolling because it tried to cut and miss the accord as it hit it.