Notices
Lancer How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in in the Request sub-forum.

How To: Painting the middle of the front bumper

Search this Thread

Old Sep 17, 2007, 05:32 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
How To: Painting the middle of the front bumper

I would first like to say that I am NOT a professional auto body painter. However, this is not my first time painting a small part of a vehicle. Do this modification at your own risk, and be very careful. The more time you spend doing the prep-work, the better the results.

Tools required:

- Short (stubby) phillips head screwdriver
- Needle nose pliers
- Sand paper (I suggest 600 grit, and 2000 grit)
- Automotive masking tape (green)
- Flat black paint (Highly recommend dupli-color bumper paint)
- Plenty of old newspaper
- Rubbing alcohol

Step #1:

First you will need to remove all the accessory stuff off of the front bumper. This includes the lincese plate, bolt sleeves, bumper pop-out, radiator cover, and upper grille. To remove the bumper pop-out, just insert a screw driver and pry-out. I'm not really sure what the purpose of this fake tow-hook cover is for. I decided to sand this down, and paint it while it was off the vehicle.

Remove the license plate, and the bolt sleeves. They will slide out fairly easily. You can choose to fill in these-holes, or leave them there. I decided to leave them there, because Maryland law requires a front plate.

The radiator cover is held down with 6 plastic push-pins. You will need needle nose pliers to remove the pins, and a screwdriver for the two plastic screws near the air intake duct. I have the locations of the plastic fasteners circled in the picture.