Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

TPS sensor testing help!

Search this Thread

Old Aug 22, 2016, 08:55 PM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
TPS sensor testing help!

I am a beginner using a multimeter so bear with me. I read a youtube video about how to test on an domestic vehicle and read several threads on evom. My Radioshack multimeter quit working (being the garage for 20years), but luckily my brother in law gave me a Craftsman one with autoranging.

http://www.socalevo.net/gallery/albu...l_tps_adj1.JPG

Plug test unplugged:
  1. Tested the continuity of the ground and it beeped.
  2. Tested the continuity of the other 2 wires (signal to ecu and positive), but no beep: I am assuming I either did this wrong or it is not suppose to beep?

Plugged in test:
  1. Poked a small hole in both wires as the plug is sealed from the outside and I do not see any way to slip the prob into the pin itself?
  2. Turned key to the on position.
  3. Tested both the green (signal out to ecu) and grey (sensor power) and got about 5v.
  4. 4. Tested both the green and grey wires moving the throttle slowly to open and back to closed. I got about 5v with no voltage change as the throttle was moved.
I need confirmation that I tested this wrong or that my sensor is bad?
I did see that the sensor was at 5v so does it need to be adjusted to the 0.535-0.735v range for it to work properly when I move the throttle from closed to open?

Any help is appreciated because my car is being remotely tuned and this needs fixed before we can start the tune!

Reference threads:
http://my.prostreetonline.com/2015/0...evolution-tps/
https://www.evolutionm.net/forums/ev...tting-tps.html

Last edited by ryukinevo; Aug 22, 2016 at 09:04 PM.
Old Aug 23, 2016, 10:27 AM
Evolving Member

Bump, no responses yet?
Old Aug 23, 2016, 01:16 PM
Evolved Member

Received 144 Likes on 128 Posts