Notices
Evo X Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine builds to the best clutch and flywheel.

Question on Gear Oils

Search this Thread

Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Question on Gear Oils

Been doing a lot of reading and everyone obviously has their own opinion, experience and brand preference. That aside, I am just looking to clarify some things. (note: I am not an expert on oils, weights, viscosity, etc, just the basics).

I am looking to DIY these changes and want to itemize what is needed and where. I am going to reference Motul Oils because that is a brand I have used and will most likely stick with unless they do not make a usable product for what the Evo requires.

For the transfer case:
Mitsu guideline calls for LSD oil - so I assume this will work?

For the Transaxle/Gearbox:
Motul Gear 300 will work fine as it is a standard 75w90 oil. This one I know about.

For the AWC Control Fluid:
Mitsu calls for Diamond ATF SPIII - what is an equivalent to this? Where does this go?

AYC Diff Gear Oil - Differential Mechanism Part
Mitsu guideline calls for LSD oil - so I assume this will work?

AYC Diff Gear Oil - Torque Transfer Part
Mitsu calls for Diamond ATF SPIII - what is an equivalent to this? Where does this go?

Thanks for help, apologies in advance for any noobness.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:45 PM

I'm not familiar with motul but for the transfer case and AYC Diff Gear Oil - Differential Mechanism Part I would stick with oem.
For the AYC Diff Gear Oil - Torque Transfer Part use oem diamond ATF as well, it is located in the rear diff, there are 2 drains and 2 fills for the different fluids.
The awc never has to be drained or refilled, it's located in your trunk though if you want to know
Transmission is really up in the air, quite a few different choices, I personally use redline but really up to you.

Last edited by zelskeet; Jan 30, 2013 at 01:00 PM.
Old Jan 30, 2013, 12:47 PM
Evolved Member