Notices
Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Ohlins Pre-load vs No Preload

Search this Thread

Old Oct 25, 2014, 03:37 AM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Ohlins Pre-load vs No Preload

Hi,

I am fairly new to suspension and have a couple questions hoping to learn more of how coilovers work. Currently I have my ohlins with no pre-load on the springs in order to get the ride height that I want. Ohlins doesn't recommend running no pre-load but their height adjustment recommendation is only about 15mm up or 15mm down MAX. Initially I have tried to get the height I want by adjusting the shock body only but it would hit the CV boot.

My question is, what exactly does pre-load and no pre-load do exactly besides changing ride height? And which is the best way to drop a car? By changing the middle (spring perch) or the bottom perch (shock body)?
Old Oct 26, 2014, 07:36 PM
Evolved Member

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Pre-load is both an accurate label and a very misleading label. It's accurate in the sense that it's the energy stored in the spring at full droop. It's misleading because that doesn't tell you anything about why we adjust it.

Preload determines where in the entire length of shock travel you are at static ride height. It determines the ratio of bump travel and droop travel. In general, you want to have all of the possible bump travel available. If it is possible for the wheel to move up three inches from static (before tires hit fenders, etc), then you want to set the preload such that you have 2.9 inches of bump travel.

The only other issue is that you want at least 25# of preload (maybe more), no matter what. This is to keep the springs aligned at full droop.
Old Oct 29, 2014, 06:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts