Notices
04-06 Ralliart Engine/Drivetrain (no forced induction)

Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)

Search this Thread

Old May 26, 2012, 06:55 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)

This thread is meant to show the mechanics and structure of the clutch master cylinder and slave cylinder, and reveal possible faults with the design and where issues can arise from failure of said parts.

First of all I will say that I'm no expert, although I am an Engineering Technologist in Training (Civil). If anyone fines anything odd about what I say please let me know and I will think it over or try to explain it better or correct any theories.

On to the dissection. We will start with the slave cylinder, it's simple enough.

Here we have our standard issue Slave Cylinder

First we will remove the boot and rod/pin

Next we will remove the banjo, banjo bolt, and banjo washers. The banjo is ferrous; the banjo bolt is also ferrous although it appears to be copper, it is copper plated; the two washers are copper.

Next comes the bleeder screw, also ferrous

Out comes the piston and spring. The piston is made from red anodized aluminum. The spring is made from ferrous metal
Attached Thumbnails Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)-img_1633.jpg   Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)-img_1634.jpg   Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)-img_1635.jpg   Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)-img_1636.jpg   Dissecting and analyzing the clutch master and slave cylinder (photo intensive)-img_1637.jpg  

Old May 26, 2012, 06:56 PM
Evolving Member

Here is a close-up with the piston and seal