Notices

I need help with my rally please help

Search this Thread

Old Mar 4, 2014, 01:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question I need help with my rally please help

I had a timing belt break on me while I was driving ( going up a small hit at about 25 mph) I got the timing belt replaced and then the balancer shaft belt broke. After both of them being replaced the car will start but it still is running very rough and the check engine light is not coming on. Is it possible it may be the timing belt may be off? or maybe the balance shaft is 180 degrees out? Can someone send me a video or photos on how to check I have never done this before.

2004 Mitsubishi Lancer Ralliart
Old Mar 4, 2014, 01:50 PM
Evolved Member

Received 89 Likes on 86 Posts
I could explain it, but it will take a while...youtube search 4g69 timing belt...the videos are for a 4g eclipse, but it's the same motor...the front balance shaft position is VERY important...also the rear balance shaft doesn't line up perfectly, so you place the mark on the sprocket a half tooth before the mark...
Old Mar 11, 2014, 04:15 AM
Evolving Member

Make sure the oil pump is in phase.

IIRC it's on a 720 degrees rotation, look it up.
Old Apr 1, 2014, 09:17 PM

Hey OP so u did not have any bent valves or damages at all? My car recently had the timing belt snapped at speed of about 50kph just about to get in to 5th gear ( heard like a really loud screech and oil temp light came on, so right away i put it on neutral and costed to safety And of course i tried to restart a few times, =/... Anyways its in the shop right now will find out this thursday evening if im one lucky person to have no damage, but i doubt it..i will keep this thread updated.

Also same engine selling for $1000 +tax with 102k on it, they say its in great condition. Maybe its better to do a full swap if worst case scenario for my engine?

Thanks guys.
Old Apr 2, 2014, 11:08 AM
Evolved Member

$1,000 is pretty steep.
Old Apr 3, 2014, 01:38 PM