Notices
09+ Lancer Ralliart General Discuss any generalized technical factory turbocharged Ralliart related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Can The Dealer Trace A Base Flash?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14, 2009, 05:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Can The Dealer Trace A Base Flash?

Hey guys,

This is my first car, and I'm new to all this stuff. And I was just wondering if the dealership can trace a base flash. The reason was if anything ever went wrong with the car and I needed to take it into the dealership, I didn't want to run into them detecting the flash and blaming that for the trouble, whatever it may be.

-thanks
shawn
Old Mar 14, 2009, 05:43 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by shawniebe
Hey guys,

This is my first car, and I'm new to all this stuff. And I was just wondering if the dealership can trace a base flash. The reason was if anything ever went wrong with the car and I needed to take it into the dealership, I didn't want to run into them detecting the flash and blaming that for the trouble, whatever it may be.

-thanks
shawn
Yes they can detect it. Anytime a flash is done at the dealer ship or outside ( for performancfe gains or whatever) the ecu records all the number of instances when a flash occurs. If you had a flash done say.....from AMS performace for example and realized that you had to take the car in to the dealer for any reason, you then get it flashed back to stock, they can still tell that it has been flashed either way. Sorry man..... its sucks I know cause I had the same thought in my head.
Old Mar 14, 2009, 05:48 PM
Evolved Member

Received 75 Likes on 68 Posts
The above is true, but it requires them to check it. I don't know of many dealers that actively check if a car has been flashed.
Old Mar 14, 2009, 05:54 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post