Notices
09+ Lancer Ralliart General Discuss any generalized technical factory turbocharged Ralliart related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

HELP! Cranking but not starting!!!

Search this Thread

Old Jul 2, 2013, 04:23 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Unhappy HELP! Cranking but not starting!!!

Hi noble people, I am a newbie to the forum, but have read many posts since I got my Ralliart in Feb/13. This is just a query to figure out why my Ralliart is failing to start, and hopefully we find a solution so that if anyone else has a similar issue, we can fix it! =D

Little bit of background: Over the past couple of weeks I had some issues cold starting the car, but after the second crank attempt she always started.

The issue: I was away for 4 days this weekend and when I got back, I wanted to make sure she started okay and she did. The next morning (MONDAY) I was on my way to work when the car wouldn't start at all. No matter how many times I gave it a crank it wouldn't start.

Preliminary Solution: Naturally I assumed the battery level was dropping below 10V (The assumed min voltage required for the injectors to fire) so I swapped the thing for a fresh 620CCA batt. But the problem still persisted.

The dealership solution: I tow-trucked my car to the Mitsu. dealership to see what they would do. They managed to get the motor running through flooring the throttle and cranking it till it started in a plooooom of smoke! They said there was probably a build up of carbon/soot around the valves, which prevented them from closing properly (Doesn't make sense to me either).

The dealership recommendation: They recommended to put a soot cleaning additive to the fuel tank, but I don't know what other damage that may cause =S So haven't done that yet!

The issue still persists, sort of.. She had trouble starting once since the dealership about 4 starts later.