Notices
Automotosports - Illinois Automotosports is a Chicago based tuner specializing in 4G63T performance. With an in-house fabrication facility and engineers on staff, they will be bringing you the best in Lancer Evolution parts.

Ebay Buyers Beware!!!!

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old May 6, 2005 | 06:20 PM
  #1  
AutoMotoSports's Avatar
Thread Starter
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (42)
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,132
Likes: 3
From: West Chicago, IL
Ebay Buyers Beware!!!!

Well eastern overseas in there infinite wisdom has decided to further ruin this industry by cloning another product and pawning it off as the real thing.

XS power / ssautochrome (yes they are the same company) whom have made themselves famous for copying product ie: Turbos for $300 that blow up in a week, knock off Tial BOV's that sieze etc have decided to clone our FMIC kit. To top things off they are using our exact intercooler and LICP pictures as advertisments. Now i Have filed fraud issues with Ebay and other agencies to resolve this matter but I wanted to bring this to your attention.

The intercoolers they are selling are NOT THE AMS FMIC. they are claiming the exact same flow numbers but the core is NOT an AMS CORE. please do not be swindled by the rediculously low price. We cannot even buy the core alone for that price. Its bad enough when internet companies bring down the price of a product but when a company takes the engineering and R&D from another product to bastardize it on ebay it will RUIN this hobby. What will happen when overseas companies copy all the products in this industry and companies like AMS, RNR, ATP Bushur etc cant afford to make them. Bye bye good parts and hello crap.

You can do your part in this by avoiding this company and others like it. If it looks to good to be true it really is. Tell your friends. put these companies out of business. patronize the shops that develop new product not the companies that steal the design to make a quick buck.

thanks for taking the time to read this. I hope it made a dent

sincerely,
Eric Gaudi
Sales manager
www.amsperformance.com

Last edited by AutoMotoSports; Nov 14, 2007 at 03:58 PM.
Reply
Old May 6, 2005 | 06:55 PM
  #2  
jj_008's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (8)
 
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 2,064
Likes: 0
From: Salem, OR
At my company we have to deal w/ Chinese knock-offs all the time. Hopefully, people will understand that these parts are inferior and are made in sweat shops by people that are basically slaves.

The ebay exhaust manifolds are a perfect example of slave wages and inferior materials. I can't even buy the materials for the same cost as those manifolds cost complete and my company purchases over a million dollars of steel a year. That doesn't even include the cost of my fabricators.

Just keep up the good work AMS.
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 11:58 AM
  #3  
teamdomokun's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (9)
 
Joined: Feb 2003
Posts: 275
Likes: 0
From: Milwaukee, WI
That's terrible, sorry to hear, I hope you get it resolved.
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 12:59 PM
  #4  
qbbraveheart's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (15)
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 679
Likes: 0
From: Brooklyn, NY
thanks for the head up
but then again I NEVER buy things from eBay that have to do with car parts
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 01:07 PM
  #5  
blueo4's Avatar
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Nov 2004
Posts: 838
Likes: 0
From: WA
there they go again applying the rice theory!
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 01:16 PM
  #6  
SuPeRNeT's Avatar
Evolving Member
20 Year Member
iTrader: (13)
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 423
Likes: 0
From: Colorado
Damn that is crapy.... damn ripoff beaiotchs
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 01:28 PM
  #7  
wingnut17's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (4)
 
Joined: Jul 2002
Posts: 602
Likes: 0
From: Beaver Falls, PA
bump so everyone can read.
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 01:37 PM
  #8  
DrEvo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (10)
 
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 540
Likes: 0
From: Somewhere in DA hood.....
Just keep up your good work guys, just don't forget for every heaven there is a hell. Just BRUSH your shoulders off...... ....... You guys are pimpan hardcore anyways!!! Fast evo in the 1/4 and fast evo in RR... PERIOD...
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 04:26 PM
  #9  
EvOcHaRgeR's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (42)
 
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 380
Likes: 0
From: Anchorage, AK
I almost decided to get an exhaust manifold off ebay that ssautochrome was selling. The price was really cheap and it looked like it was of good quality however I decided not to get it because it didn't fit my application. I ended up getting another exhaust manifold off ebay for twice the price and the brand was more well known but it fit my application. Thanks for the info about the knock-offs I will pass it on.
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 04:41 PM
  #10  
SIC SIK SIX's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 883
Likes: 0
From: Orlando
thanks for the info, good looking out
Reply
Old May 7, 2005 | 08:29 PM
  #11  
blonde's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,221
Likes: 0
Eric,

sorry to hear about that bro and good luck in your fight. you guys are doing great things and it is a shame that other people are trying to steal from you.

i am stickying this thread for you so all the members can see this and help you with your battle.

Snir
Reply
Old May 9, 2005 | 01:03 PM
  #12  
AutoMotoSports's Avatar
Thread Starter
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (42)
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Posts: 6,132
Likes: 3
From: West Chicago, IL
that country line was done by someone else. not a member of this shop. If it offended anyone we do appoligize. Moderators if you could remove that as well as other posts relating to it we would be gratefull.

Eric
Reply
Old May 9, 2005 | 10:48 PM
  #13  
blonde's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (12)
 
Joined: Jun 2003
Posts: 2,221
Likes: 0
you got it buddy
Reply
Old May 10, 2005 | 07:50 AM
  #14  
EricJ@AMS's Avatar
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,652
Likes: 1
From: Wood Dale, IL
Thanks!
Reply
Old May 10, 2005 | 07:52 AM
  #15  
upstateEVO's Avatar
Newbie
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Aug 2004
Posts: 61
Likes: 0
From: ny
you guys should watermark all your images with your trademark. It would make it more difficult to steal the images.... just a thought
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:42 AM.