Notices
E85 / Ethanol This section is dedicated to tuning with ethanol.

E85 + Winter (what should I be worried about)

Search this Thread

Old Oct 28, 2014, 12:41 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
E85 + Winter (what should I be worried about)

Well im new to the E85 world and I will be driving my evo this winter. Is there anything I should be worried about or watch for while running E85 this winter or should I just get a pump gas tune? Im open to suggestions.

Thanks,
Brian
Old Oct 28, 2014, 12:45 PM
Evolved Member

Received 98 Likes on 94 Posts
E85 is a pain in the a*s to get going when it's cold. Do you park the car inside or outside?!
Old Oct 28, 2014, 12:47 PM

Inside but i work into the night so it gets cold outside. I figured it would just have to warm up a lot longer hahaha but for the most part it sits in my garage
Old Oct 28, 2014, 12:59 PM
Evolved Member

Received 98 Likes on 94 Posts
Originally Posted by Brian's 8
Inside but i work into the night so it gets cold outside. I figured it would just have to warm up a lot longer hahaha but for the most part it sits in my garage
Once it gets going and is warmed up its fine, getting it started is the annoying part.
Old Oct 28, 2014, 01:03 PM

Yah so far the tune that I got from Devin has been amazing it runs great but just is very touchy until some what warmed up.
Old Nov 2, 2014, 05:06 AM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by e_kobz
Once it gets going and is warmed up its fine, getting it started is the annoying part.
Haha true .
Old Nov 2, 2014, 08:52 AM
Evolving Member

My car is a pain in the *** to start. About 15 cranks to get the ****er started.
Old Nov 2, 2014, 09:03 AM
Evolving Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Will I have a problem with the 2150s starting the car in the winter with E85?

I have the same concern, but have added large 2150 injectors on a new build, AEM series 2. I just recently found out that you can wash out the rings from repeatedly starting it.