Notices
ECU Flash

1 count of constant knock across the board?

Search this Thread

Old Feb 23, 2011, 06:43 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1 count of constant knock across the board?

Hello all,

Im fairly new to the process of tuning and logging. Right now i have a 2003 evo with a few bolt-ons ( injectors, tbe, I/C piping, EBC, etc) I know the tune on the car is HORRIBLE right now. The car was tuned a few months ago at a shop in CT and it didnt come out so great, so ive been slowly trying to learn as much as i can to hopefully straighten out my own car.

Anyways, I know the car is running SUPER rich. It just reeks of unburnt gas. Ive been doing dozens of evoscan logs with the car but the knock sum always seems to stay constant at a count of 1. The knock voltage fluctuates a bit, but usually between 0.6v-1.4v. ive also noticed a few times where timing advance is at 46*

Am i getting so little knock because of how rich the car is running? or because the timing is so out of whack? A replacement serial cable is on the way so i will be able to log AFR's in a couple days.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Matt

Old Feb 23, 2011, 07:03 PM
Evolved Member

Received 19 Likes on 14 Posts
Can you post the actual log? that would help quite a bit. Put it a zip archive so you can upload it here, or upload it to google docs so we can view it directly.

Looks like you're getting constant 10 knocksum, not 1. Timing curve (not that you could really call it a curve in your case) looks very odd indeed.
Old Feb 23, 2011, 07:24 PM
Evolving Member

Thanks for the reply. Yeah, things are a little weird with my car right now. Ive done probably about 30 logs in the last couple days and they all seem to be similar.

Here is the google doc of the above top graph

https://spreadsheets.google.com/ccc?...thkey=CMvr9MoO

Thanks again!

Last edited by evonewb29; Feb 23, 2011 at 07:29 PM.
Old Feb 23, 2011, 07:27 PM
Evolved Member