Notices
Evo Dyno Tuning / Results Discuss vendor and member dyno tuning techniques, results and graphs.

Andrew's 463whp Auto Evo

Search this Thread

Old Mar 17, 2012, 09:29 AM
Evolved Member

Received 64 Likes on 48 Posts
Andrew's 463whp Auto Evo

Andrew and I have been hanging out since November 2010 and are the heads of the "R&D" department here at English Racing. We have the wacky ideas, we try them, we have alot we cant use but at the same time we have alot of fun.

Lately of course, EnglishRacing has been hard at work on the Auto project which has been a long time coming. Andrew stepped up the pace when he ordered one last April and decided we were going to make it work. As you know its been in the car since October when we first announced it and we have been working to steadily debug it.

The "Magic Box" has gotten 95% of what we need done so we could test the car.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=j5mU4...2&feature=plcp

One thing we learned is that with an auto you sit at the flash point of the converter for a long time. In an Evo on gas or E85 this means it can sit at full timing for several seconds as the converter catches up. Read more about that here (keep in mind it gets a little technical)-

http://www.kennedysdynotune.com/Torq...ter%20Tech.htm

Basically it says as torque goes up so does the flash which is what you will see in the dyno graphs. It looks like late spool but trust me its not, its a mirage of the dyno vs auto.

Andrew has had the same stock motor in his IX as most owners do with some upgrades to make it more fun. In his case it had the following mods-

ER SD tune
GSC S2s
3" turbo back
MAP O2 dump
ER test pipe dump
FIC 1450s
64mm FP Red

We started getting a little sketched out by the stock motor and the load it was going to see so even though it had made 401whp through the auto at only 25psi and pumpgas timing on E85, we wanted to fortify it.