Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Driveline Lash

Search this Thread

Old Sep 30, 2005, 08:34 PM
Evolved Member

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
Driveline Lash

You know what I mean. When the car bucks or bounces when you let the clutch out too fast and it's not a completely smooth engagement. Give the Evo too much gas when you let go and you can hear it - and usually feel it.

There's plenty out there about motor mounts, braces, etc. Alot of it relates to trouble shifting quickly or grinding.

What works?

The Weapon R Damper looks a bit useless to these eyes but I'm not an automotive engineer. If it starts w/mounts, instead of replacing can we fill them with windshield adhesive, for instance, to stiffen them up for starters.

Are there consequences elsewhere in the drivetrain when we start to stiffen up the engine position under the hood?

I don't want opinions, really. I'd rather have those that have tried a few things and know answer the question.

What works to remove the bouncing, bucking lash?
Does it create other problems?

Thanks!
Old Sep 30, 2005, 09:17 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
throw in some inserts....but, be prepared for more vibrations...
Old Sep 30, 2005, 10:45 PM
Evolved Member

OK, that answer sucks ... LOL

Inserts into where? and what kind of new/aggravated vibrations?

Sorry, just don't know what you're getting at ...
Old Sep 30, 2005, 10:48 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
There are no "spaces" in the torque mounts... that's why no "inserts" are available.
Old Sep 30, 2005, 11:09 PM
Evolved Member

ya this isnt a honda, they dont have those gay polyurathane inserts for ur motor mounts. i have the same problem. its an easy fix. buy a new mount for the front, because they go after a while. never used those dampers on the evo yet but lots of kids use them on their 240's. think of it as a shock for ur motor. couldnt hurt i guess.