Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

After 2.5yrs car is running!!

Search this Thread

Old Dec 13, 2008, 09:17 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
After 2.5yrs car is running!!

I cant believe it. I drove it for the first time in 2.5 years. I completed the engine installation a few hours ago. It needed a new battery. I just threw it in and it started!! I had to drive it around the block. 'Course I had to put the front tires on and lower the car off the jacks (been on them since April 2006...oh, and the car is an 05 evo8 with 20k miles)

I have been building this engine for almost 3 months now. I started with an AMS shortblock 2.0L and put it together myself. Installed the engine and tranny myself...no help (this was a learning experience)

Mod list

AMS 2.0L
Stock turbo
APS BOV
Cosworth head
Jun 264 in/ex
Fidanza cam gears
Cusco twin disk
780cc inj
Walbro 255
AEM EMS (speed density)
JIC DP and exhaust
Test pipe

Is that all $11k looks like?

The tune needs to be redone for the AEM. It runs super rich. I only drove it around the block. It wasnt tuned for the 780's, Walbro or the cams as the previous engine was stock.

This is the first time I have ever built an engine up and installed it myself.

Thanks so much to AMS for the motor and head. I cant wait to get it tuned.
Old Dec 13, 2008, 09:33 PM

congrats! Have fun with it
Old Dec 13, 2008, 09:38 PM
Evolved Member

Congrats. Looks like your gonna have alot of fun with it!
Old Dec 13, 2008, 09:44 PM
Evolving Member

you'll appreciate it that much more now that you built it yourself. You now have intimate knowledge of your ride!
Old Dec 13, 2008, 09:54 PM
Evolved Member

It was very intimidating at first. I kinda psyched myself out for the first year even though I disassembled it myself. I bagged and tagged everything and in the end, it went together so smoothly. I kick myself in the butt for wasting time.