Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

quick question about the evo 9 turbo someone sent me.

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:04 PM
  #1  
evo4life400's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
From: Northeast
quick question about the evo 9 turbo someone sent me.

hey guys im almost positive i got scammed but i want to make sure so he can give me my money back. i bought a turbo off someone not on here and they sent it to me and said they are positive its an evo 9 turbo. i got the turbo today and it says 9.8t on it. thats an evo 8 turbo from an 03/04 right? im so f***ing pissed off.
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:06 PM
  #2  
justa4banger's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Joined: Mar 2008
Posts: 1,340
Likes: 0
From: underground
post up some pics
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:09 PM
  #3  
evokid511's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (24)
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,005
Likes: 0
From: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
if its actually a 9.8t then yes thats the evo 8 turbo the 9 has a 10.2 im pretty sure there
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:15 PM
  #4  
evo4life400's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
From: Northeast
ill post some pics in a little while and im almost positive. the evo 9 has a 10.5 i think and so does the 2005 evo 8 but the 03/04 have the 9.8t
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:40 PM
  #5  
C_LosEvo's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 173
Likes: 1
From: Los Angeles, CA
man that sucks...
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:43 PM
  #6  
blownevo's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 253
Likes: 0
From: TX
Kick his *** C-bass!!!!
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 02:55 PM
  #7  
EvolvedGTI's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (37)
 
Joined: Nov 2005
Posts: 303
Likes: 0
From: Army BCT
Yeah 10.5 HS. if its 9.8, that is=/<2004
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:04 PM
  #8  
evo4life400's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
From: Northeast
yeah he better give me my money back...he was like "i am positive it is an evo 9 turbo" so i took the chance and of course it fu**ed me.
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:06 PM
  #9  
Evoryder's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (55)
 
Joined: Apr 2004
Posts: 7,383
Likes: 10
From: ☼ Florida ☼
sounds like an 8 turbo. You have the number on the turbo?
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:09 PM
  #10  
Evolution IVGSR's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (42)
 
Joined: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,720
Likes: 1
From: Utah, SLC
You should be able to tell just by looking at the compressor side. The 9 is much bigger than the 8 is and it is noticeable

http://img204.imageshack.us/img204/3...comparo0hq.jpg



Stock Evo 9 Turbo (Left) , Stock Evo 8 turbo (Right)

Last edited by Evolution IVGSR; Apr 17, 2009 at 03:12 PM.
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:10 PM
  #11  
evo4life400's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
From: Northeast
Originally Posted by Evoryder
sounds like an 8 turbo. You have the number on the turbo?
i can check....ill put the info up in a minute
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:12 PM
  #12  
EvolNinja's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (22)
 
Joined: Nov 2007
Posts: 1,638
Likes: 2
From: Wisconsin
Originally Posted by evo4life400
ill post some pics in a little while and im almost positive. the evo 9 has a 10.5 i think and so does the 2005 evo 8 but the 03/04 have the 9.8t
110% it's a evo 8 turbo. Even some 8 has 10.5 hotside too. Sorry you just got scammed or the other guy don't even know if the turbo is a 9 or 8 turbo Just get your money back.
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:16 PM
  #13  
samurai85's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Nov 2008
Posts: 125
Likes: 0
From: Vancouver
if this was paid via paypal and credit card, file a dispute right away on paypal, and call your credit card company for a chargeback.
good luck.
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:29 PM
  #14  
evo4life400's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolving Member
iTrader: (11)
 
Joined: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Likes: 0
From: Northeast
it was done using a cash on delivery payment at the post office so i have his address and all that plus he seems like he will refund me the money.
Reply
Old Apr 17, 2009 | 03:45 PM
  #15  
BenJ's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (21)
 
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,259
Likes: 0
From: SoCal
I hope that you get your money back. For future transactions, make sure that when buying specific parts that you either buy in person, from a reputable vendor, or get detailed pics of what you're buying.
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:17 PM.