Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

My turbo bearing seized and shaft snapped...

Search this Thread

Old Mar 9, 2004, 11:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
My turbo bearing seized and shaft snapped...

Newbie here...

Does anyone here know if the Evo8's have had any problems with turbo failure? I've done extensive searching but haven't found anyone that's had their stock turbo fail.

It's at the dealer right now waiting for a new one. They said the front bearing went bad and the shaft snapped. My car has no engine or exhaust mods. It's pretty much bone stock. When it failed, I was in 3rd gear accelerating and was around 3500 rpms. The car just nosed over and had no power.

I'm just dumb founded by this considering I hear these cars are pretty much bullet proof plus I have not heard of anyone else with this failure. At least not yet.

So has anyone else had this problem?

BTW, the service dept at the dealer my cars at is awesome to work with. They got my car right in and figured out the problem and quickly ordered the part. No hassle whatsoever. Reason why I say this is all the posts I've read here saying what a nightmare they've had at their dealers not warranting things that should be. I guess I'm lucky (knock on wood) but unlucky if I'm the only one that's had this problem (turbo failure).

Anyone with some info would be much appreciated!

Last edited by LYVIII; Mar 9, 2004 at 11:25 PM.
Old Mar 9, 2004, 11:28 PM
Evolved Member

maybe u got a lemon car
Old Mar 9, 2004, 11:32 PM
Evolved Member

jesus, just because he's had one problem doesnt mean the damn car is a lemon.. so many people are quick to say that these days, **** happens! now.. on the other hand, if it happens again and again, thats a different story.
Old Mar 10, 2004, 07:27 AM
Admin Emeritus

Received 100 Likes on 69 Posts
Hi,