Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Average cost of drive train for evo 8/9?

Search this Thread

Old May 7, 2018, 03:24 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Average cost of drive train for evo 8/9?

What is the average cost of a drive train for an evo 8/9? I'm looking for shells and was wondering how much it would cost to buy a drive train and install one. Thanks.
Old May 7, 2018, 03:39 PM
EvoM Guru

Received 1,543 Likes on 1,322 Posts
Figure $1k for stock tcase. $650 for stock rear diff. $1500 for a stock trans. Motor will vary a lot more. Buying a shell is not a good way to put together a "cheap" Evo.
The following users liked this post:
Icyjup (May 7, 2018)
Old May 7, 2018, 03:43 PM

I'm trying to build an evo for the experiences and stuff. But yea I'm kinda new to the whole rebuilding scene but I do have the resources to put an Evo together. Just gotta find the right parts and stuff. Thanks for the insight!
Old May 7, 2018, 04:42 PM
EvoM Guru

If you want to build a car, I HIGHLY recommend just finding a high mileage one in decent shape for around $14-$15k. Buying a complete car will save you A LOT of headaches.
Icyjup (May 7, 2018)
Old May 7, 2018, 05:17 PM

Finding a high mileage as in a shell right? Cause at that point I'll be putting all the parts in that makes the car run.
Old May 7, 2018, 07:35 PM
Evolving Member

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
To be honest, I dont think its a good idea to buy a shell and try to piece everything together. How much time do you have? whats your budget? Even if you get the cheapest OEM parts of craigslist and cobble them together properly, then you may have a working evo. But for how long? probably not long. I bought mine from a joe shmoe dealer that had multiple high $$$ cars and all they had to do was put and engine in. I have taken just about everything but the engine out and I may have to take that engine out in the next couple weeks.