Notices
Evo Engine / Turbo / Drivetrain Everything from engine management to the best clutch and flywheel.

Forced Performance Evo 8 turbo housing. 10.5cm2 worth it?

Search this Thread

Old Jul 22, 2004, 12:21 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Forced Performance Evo 8 turbo housing. 10.5cm2 worth it?

Well I was waiting for forced performance to do something with the evo's. but for $245 bucks which is really cheap, a larger housing, is that worth it? im a turbo newbie so what are the real benefits of this?

http://linux.forcedperformance.net/m...ode=Lancer_EVO

there is the link.

thanks

anyone have it already?
Old Jul 22, 2004, 12:35 PM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
With a larger exhaust housing, you'll sacrifice lag and low end for more top end.
Old Jul 22, 2004, 12:43 PM
Evolved Member

thats very interesting...i have had two turbo's on previous cars from FP and they are some of the finest i have ever seen...FP usually does not joke around with their products.

i'm hoping someone will purchase this shell out some good dyno numbers
Old Jul 22, 2004, 12:49 PM
Evolved Member

I'll second that opinion about Forced Performance. I had their "Green" turbo on my GSX and my 1g and it showed NO shaft play after 25k miles. Very well-built.

Last edited by marksae; Jul 22, 2004 at 01:30 PM.
Old Jul 22, 2004, 01:16 PM
Evolving Member

Showed shaft play or no shaft play?
Old Jul 22, 2004, 01:20 PM
Evolved Member

Is this the same unit slated for the 2005? It seems to fit the description.

"+5 hp increase / +13 lb-ft increase, due to larger diameter turbo nozzle (9.8 -->10.5) and new waste gate shape (oval --> circle) for improved boost response"

http://media.mitsubishicars.com/deta...54184&mime=ASC
Old Jul 22, 2004, 01:24 PM
Evolved Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by propellerhead
Is this the same unit slated for the 2005? It seems to fit the description.