Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

evo owners, i need your opinion

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:01 PM
  #1  
Wallesasuaz's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
Liked
iTrader: (23)
 
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,634
Likes: 13
From: Queens, NY
evo owners, i need your opinion

Well after months of searching for an evo. I finally found one.
I'm getting rid of my lancer and on to the EVO.

First things off... Is it legal to purchase and Evo in Europe and have it shipped here?

would there be any problems if i try and bring one over. Cause the guy selling me his used one has it in england. So, from my knowledge i know that the guages in speed over there run in Kilometers and not MPh like here,. Would that be a problem.

Just need some opinions, is it worth it?... I'm getting it for a very good price.

ASAP input!
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:09 PM
  #2  
evolution666's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (14)
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 183
Likes: 0
From: GOTHAM AND PUERTO RICO.
First, Us Will Not Let In The States. Simple, Emissions. Unless You Spend The Money To Legalize It To Us Standards, Which Is Alot Of Money The Car Will Never Make It Off The Boat. There Are So Many Issues With Bringing In A Car From Japan, England Etc, It Pathetic. Sorry Bro. My Buddy Owns A Skyline In Chi Town And The Bs He Dealt With Costed Him 20 Grand In Making The Car Legal.
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:13 PM
  #3  
DCSilvrEvo's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (5)
 
Joined: Oct 2004
Posts: 2,498
Likes: 1
From: Hyattsville MD
NO BULL You will probally be better off getting a USDM EVO and Seeing if the drivetrain can be Retro fitted. IT will cost you a hell of a lot less and also you dont have to wait the longest for a car.
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:16 PM
  #4  
Erik@MIL.SPEC's Avatar
Former Sponsor
iTrader: (94)
 
Joined: Dec 2001
Posts: 5,695
Likes: 24
From: Los Angeles
Beware. There have been scams where people try to sell a used Evo that doesn't exist. If the price seems too good to be true, it is.
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:17 PM
  #5  
PoorBoys's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jun 2004
Posts: 736
Likes: 0
From: Las Vegas
Ya. Not only does it have to meet emisions, it needs to have the speedometer and odometer converted to miles. It also needs new bumper supports for the 5mph bumpers and all the glass needs to be replaced with safety glass. This is all in addition to the things required to get it registerable and registered.
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:18 PM
  #6  
bonestockevo8's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (2)
 
Joined: Dec 2004
Posts: 299
Likes: 0
Get a USDM one. A UKDM or JDM one will be difficult/impossible to legalize...and if you do get it done; it would have been cheaper to get a USDM one. Save up and do it right.
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:35 PM
  #7  
Wallesasuaz's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
Liked
iTrader: (23)
 
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,634
Likes: 13
From: Queens, NY
what are the differences exactly?..

is the whole drive-train different. I'm looking at this site and the wheel's on the back seem to be wider than the front.. i dunno, thanks for the input guys


check this out..

www.mitsubishi-evolution8.com
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 09:59 PM
  #8  
Jakeg97's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (56)
 
Joined: Sep 2004
Posts: 11,132
Likes: 1
From: Western NY
Originally Posted by Wallesasuaz
I'm getting rid of my lancer and on to the EVO.
good decision.
but buy it the us. it will save some headaches
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 10:01 PM
  #9  
SIC SIK SIX's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 883
Likes: 0
From: Orlando
too much headaches buying overseas. at least if you buy it here, you can get to see it first
Reply
Old Jun 8, 2005 | 11:09 PM
  #10  
Aikido's Avatar
Evolving Member
iTrader: (1)
 
Joined: Jan 2005
Posts: 484
Likes: 0
From: HBG, PA
why buy one from overseas? I mean if it was a make that isn't made in north america like a Skyline then it would be understandable, Now adays you can get a used evo for 20k or up. Just look around.
Reply
Old Jun 9, 2005 | 02:34 AM
  #11  
rezo's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 127
Likes: 0
From: San Diego, CA
UK = miles per hour btw...
Reply
Old Jun 9, 2005 | 06:26 AM
  #12  
sabastian458's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (25)
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,607
Likes: 0
From: Upstate, SC
uk models have all those fancy gadgets like active yaw controler, which usa evos dont. and over there they have 4 different models of mr's. you can import a brittish evo to the usa there was a link in here the other day that gave the web site for it. plus living in ny you should be able to find an import shop that can import cars. i live in sc and there is one about 20 mins from my work. so yeah it can be done
Reply
Old Jun 9, 2005 | 06:49 AM
  #13  
MTMS4's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 468
Likes: 0
.......plus the steering wheel's on the RHS for UK and JDM cars.
Reply
Old Jun 9, 2005 | 10:46 AM
  #14  
Wallesasuaz's Avatar
Thread Starter
Evolved Member
20 Year Member
Photogenic
Liked
iTrader: (23)
 
Joined: May 2002
Posts: 1,634
Likes: 13
From: Queens, NY
well this guy selling me the car supposedly lives in jersey from what i understand. The whole time i'm thinking the car is in the states since he's here. But then he tells me that the car is in london. I've done some research myself and they have evos that are RHS and LHS driving. So, i'm still inconclusive on what to do.

Trying to get some more information off of him along w/ specs and pcitures of the car.

I"ll keep you guys posted. He said he would pay for the shipping too... And proper documentation would be provided w/ the package for easy registering in the states.
Reply
Old Jun 9, 2005 | 11:48 AM
  #15  
fsugatorbait's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (16)
 
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,338
Likes: 0
From: CT
Originally Posted by Wallesasuaz
well this guy selling me the car supposedly lives in jersey from what i understand. The whole time i'm thinking the car is in the states since he's here. But then he tells me that the car is in london. I've done some research myself and they have evos that are RHS and LHS driving. So, i'm still inconclusive on what to do.

Trying to get some more information off of him along w/ specs and pcitures of the car.

I"ll keep you guys posted. He said he would pay for the shipping too... And proper documentation would be provided w/ the package for easy registering in the states.

Its a scam, stay away from it.
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:23 AM.