Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Direct Injection of E85

Search this Thread

Old Jun 6, 2007, 10:13 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Direct Injection of E85

In the latest issue of C&D (Csaba Csere's article on page 13) he talks about a company that is working on direct injection of E85. It sounds similar to alcohol injection except that AI is injected into the intake and they are proposing direct injection of the E85 "on-demand". Their presentation is at http://www.ethanolboost.com/EBS_Overview.pdf

Would there be any benefit to filling up a AI kit with E85 if tuned properly.
Old Jun 6, 2007, 10:45 AM

I am surprised no one has piped up yet.

I am by no means an expert in this area, but after looking through the slides, E85 injection seems like something that would be really cool and fun to mod up an Evo with. More performance with adding an occasional trip to an E85 station every now and then.
Old Jun 6, 2007, 11:22 AM

thats rad
Old Jun 6, 2007, 11:37 AM
Evolving Member

Something to keep in mind:

Ethanol will eat away plastics and some steels.

E85 is *fuel*. Injecting it into your intake would be like just hooking up the wet side of a Wet Injection Nitrous system. Without the added air, you'll run really rich, so you'll have to have your ECU back down on your fuel when the E85 is being injected.

Ethanol will also break down oil, just like meth. So if you over-inject you'll get bore-wash same as meth, and also shorten the life of your oil.

Ethanol is as pricey or moreso than regular fuel right now, due to distribution issues linked to the first point up above. You'll only find it in major metro areas.