Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

What Did You Do To Your Evo Today? 2023

Search this Thread

Old Mar 14, 2019, 07:23 PM
EvoM Staff Alumni

Received 1,384 Likes on 1,317 Posts
Originally Posted by stgevo8
Recently my evo 8 2003 started to run really rough idle . But no loss of power. Took to local tuner and he said the car has cams and the rough idle was normal with cams. Anybody out there have any idea? Note I have owned the car for over 10 years never did it idle like this. Please help with an answer,, sorry I’m a newbie to evo m
@stgevo8

Hey, thanks for posting up. Did your turner actually pull a log from the ECU while doing some street pulls. A log can really show a lot of parameters that can hint at issues

When was your last tune? When was the last maintenance done (spark plugs and such)
The following users liked this post:
stgevo8 (Mar 14, 2019)
Old Mar 14, 2019, 08:12 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Thanks or the reply.. tuner did not do any runs yet just changed basics rev limit and deleted back o2. I have never had it tuned. Car started to run rough so I did plugs wires and coils. But like I said for about 10 years it had smoothidle and when the idle changed that’s when we decided we needed a tune no real mods new fmic one got damaged still stock turbo and fuel. I am just lost on how the car suddenly has cams or at least sound like it. But the positive is it seems more responsive after small tweets by the tuner. I appreciate any ideas. Thanks again
The following users liked this post:
MinusPrevious (Mar 15, 2019)
Old Mar 17, 2019, 11:51 AM
Evolved Member

Received 295 Likes on 236 Posts