Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

Counter steering with AWD

Search this Thread

Old Dec 10, 2013, 10:49 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Counter steering with AWD

This might come off as sort of a dumb question, but how do Evo's respond to counter steer? I come from a large s-chassis background (Silvias/240's for those who don't know what that is), and clutch kicking, counter steering, playing with the throttle and all that good stuff came with ease over the years. However, I'm somewhat new to AWD and nervous about ever encountering a situation where my car oversteers. I've taken some corners pretty fast and have yet to break traction; I'm kind of hesitant to push my car any further because I don't know how it's going to respond to counter steering. My concern is over counter steering and having the front wheels catch traction and snapping back. Anyone have experience with this? Most Evo owners I encounter in person only care about how fast they can go in a straight line so some insight would be nice lol. My reaction would be to counter steer enough to keep the car on the track/road while powering through on the throttle and straightening out, but I feel like it's not that easy like in a RWD. Thanks.

Last edited by McSlides; Dec 12, 2013 at 09:22 AM.
Old Dec 10, 2013, 11:23 AM
Evolved Member

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Originally Posted by McSlides