Notices
Evo General Discuss any generalized technical Evo related topics that may not fit into the other forums. Please do not post tech and rumor threads here.
Sponsored by: RavSpec - JDM Wheels Central

How to tell if a Evo 8 FQ300 is genuine?

Thread Tools
 
Search this Thread
 
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 08:53 PM
  #1  
zboost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
From: new zealand
How to tell if a Evo 8 FQ300 is genuine?

How can I tell if a Evo 8 FQ300 is genuine?
It's the NZ new one.

Called Mitsubishi up and they didn't do anything to find out.

The spoiler is carbon with colour matched sides.
No plaque anywhere identifying it as FQ300
Nothing near gear surround.
Has HKS exhaust, not sure if it's the stock FQ300 one
FQ300 rear badge
FQ300 sideskirt badge
No rear bumper fog light
Can't tell from the intake as it came with a aftermarket Blitz one
Had 1 catalytic converter with no cat sensor, I believe non fq300 have 2 cats.
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 09:10 PM
  #2  
EvoTurboTurk's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
From: Brisbane Australia
Post up picture if you can

Does it have FQ300 where the gear knob is & another number with # or something like that?

Last edited by EvoTurboTurk; Nov 3, 2014 at 09:14 PM.
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 10:17 PM
  #3  
zboost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
From: new zealand
Nope it doesn't
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 10:25 PM
  #4  
EvoTurboTurk's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
From: Brisbane Australia
http://www.carenthusiast.com/reviews/article/166/-/2003-Mitsubishi-Lancer+Evolution+VIII/FQ-300.html

Check that link & see if yours is like that in pictures, etc
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 10:42 PM
  #5  
zboost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
From: new zealand
From the pictures it only has the same spoiler. The gear surround says Evolution instead of FQ300.
Could it just be because its a NZ New FQ300?
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 10:49 PM
  #6  
EvoTurboTurk's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
From: Brisbane Australia
Get a dyno done & see how much the car makes flywheel...

Last edited by EvoTurboTurk; Nov 3, 2014 at 10:52 PM.
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 11:10 PM
  #7  
zboost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
From: new zealand
It made like 195kw @ 16psi I think. Will check the dyno sheet again.
Reply
Old Nov 3, 2014 | 11:41 PM
  #8  
gtlshroutti's Avatar
Newbie
 
Joined: Nov 2014
Posts: 4
Likes: 0
From: london
The gear surround says Evolution instead of FQ300.
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2014 | 12:07 AM
  #9  
zboost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
From: new zealand
Originally Posted by gtlshroutti
The gear surround says Evolution instead of FQ300.
??
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2014 | 04:51 AM
  #10  
Hype's Avatar
Newbie
 
Joined: Apr 2012
Posts: 63
Likes: 2
From: Johannesburg South Africa
Not a genuine FQ 300, they were UK spec only. Had rear fog in the rear bumper, has a special tag by the gear lever surround. The badging is also completely wrong on the trunk.

Makes decent power so nothing to be worried about
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2014 | 06:02 AM
  #11  
NJ9MR's Avatar
Evolved Member
FCOTM Winner
15 Year Member
Shutterbug
Liked
iTrader: (56)
 
Joined: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,235
Likes: 43
From: N.New Jersey, SoCal & Tokyo, Japan
...and that sticker on the trunk is definitely a fake!
Reply
Old Nov 4, 2014 | 02:42 PM
  #12  
EvoTurboTurk's Avatar
Evolving Member
 
Joined: Nov 2012
Posts: 274
Likes: 0
From: Brisbane Australia
Lol I was going to say fake also, but couldn't. FQ300 must be like the link I provided above.
Reply
Old Nov 5, 2014 | 03:02 PM
  #13  
Jonno99's Avatar
Evolved Member
10 Year Member
Photogenic
Photoriffic
Liked
 
Joined: Aug 2014
Posts: 1,389
Likes: 70
From: Australia
someone has put a sticker on the back, when i saw this thread i was thinking it was at least going to be a good fake
Reply
Old Nov 5, 2014 | 04:40 PM
  #14  
zboost's Avatar
Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 37
Likes: 0
From: new zealand
Thanks for the replies.
The previous owner sold it to us as a FQ300 so not happy to be mislead..
Reply
Old Nov 5, 2014 | 07:50 PM
  #15  
llDemonll's Avatar
Evolved Member
iTrader: (21)
 
Joined: Jan 2011
Posts: 3,231
Likes: 99
From: Washington
probably should have researched this before buying it...

that's hindsight now though
Reply



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:18 AM.