Notices
Evo How Tos / Installations Post or link to your detailed how to / installation articles in here. If you have any questions regarding the how tos, feel free to post them in the Request sub-forum.

How To Dynamat your doors (lots of pics)

Old Feb 15, 2009, 01:34 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Post How To Dynamat your doors (lots of pics)

Hello everyone,

This is a "how-to" write-up on how to instal dynamat material on the front doors. It turned out to be an easy install with no complications, anyone can do it.
I upgraded my head unit and speakers on my evo, and noticed some rattles coming from the doors when i turned the volume up high. I did a little bit of research on what to do about it, and decided to go with Dynamat Extreme Door Kit. It contains 12 sq feet of material (4 sheets of 1'x3', just enough to finish 2 doors with a little bit left over). There are other brands you can go with, like Raammat, Elemental Designs, etc.
I'm not an expert at this, I just did some research, watched a few youtube videos on installation, so if you have any additional suggestions, let me know and i will add them to this how-to.

Tools recommended:
Name:  IMG_4388.jpg
Views: 0
Size:  100.5 KB

Sound Deadening Material:
Name:  IMG_4423.jpg
Size:  97.6 KB

Name:  IMG_4382.jpg
Size:  89.8 KB

Let's get started.

1. Start by removing the door panel. There are 4 screws to remove, then you need to pop-off the door panel. I took a "larger" screwdriver as you see in picture 1 and wrapped masking tape around the tip, so I would not scratch the paint on the door.

2. Remove the plastic foil from the door as you see in the picture below.
Name:  IMG_4383.jpg
Size:  53.5 KB

3. Remove the goo (adhesive) that was holding the plastic foil in place. I used a flat-head screwdriver and scraped it off, and a thin layer remained, but it didn't bother me, and the dynamat went right over with no issues. This is the goo i'm talking about:
Name:  IMG_4385.jpg
Size:  79.8 KB