Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

long-term Recaro comfort opinions?

Search this Thread

Old May 17, 2011, 04:57 PM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
long-term Recaro comfort opinions?

I've been debating picking up a used set of Evo X Recaro's for my 2011 RA, but I'm still on the fence whether I like them enough for the ~$1000 cost. I will upgrade whatever seats I get to leather myself, so factor that in.

I sell Mitsubishi's (lots of Evo's/RA's in particular), so I get plenty of chances/time to sit in them. They feel great on test drives and of course they are just so cool!

But literally, (make fun of me all you want) my gf is one of the biggest reasons I'm reluctant to get Recaro's.

When I'm out with her, I love that I can scare her to death on the way to dinner, and yet she can still fall asleep on the way home. It seriously puts a huge smile on my face - aggressive sport mode on the SST the way there, and comfortable normal on the way back (I love this tranny)

1. She reclines the seat back when she goes to sleep. I know Recaro's can akwardly recline too, but they feel weird when reclined
2. There's not much room to move (for obvious reasons). On longer trips, it seems you're pretty much stuck sitting straight-up the whole time
3. Weight. These seats are heavy, and I wonder if I could get an aftermarket seat that's equally as comfortable while reducing some weight. Not many people seem to upgrade though, so not sure what to get. I've seen a lot of hype over the Bride's, but what makes them so much better?