Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Helmet Selection Autocross + Motorcycle?

Old Sep 13, 2012, 10:17 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Helmet Selection Autocross + Motorcycle?

Hey everybody.

I'm looking for some helmet suggestions. I need something that will work for autocross and while riding motorcycles with my friend.

Will most helmets work for both in-car and motorcycles? Do I need separate helmets? I guess there are certain ratings that must be adhered to, also. But, I'm a complete noob.

Please help.
Old Sep 13, 2012, 10:20 AM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by joescars
Hey everybody.

I'm looking for some helmet suggestions. I need something that will work for autocross and while riding motorcycles with my friend.

Will most helmets work for both in-car and motorcycles? Do I need separate helmets? I guess there are certain ratings that must be adhered to, also. But, I'm a complete noob.

Please help.

Hi there. Technically the difference between an SA (special auto) and M (motorcycle) helmet rating from the Snell foundation is that the SA helmets have to be tested for fire retardation which is likely to be a condition in a car crash not a motorcycle accident. so get one with the latest SA rating you can find. They are good for 10 years from the SA date. So if it says SA2005 they are certified up to 2015.

The only thing is that I believe Snell helmets are also DOT approved by default but your average DOT helmet will probably not be Snell compliant.
Old Sep 13, 2012, 10:34 AM

^ what he said, plus to autocross you must have a snell helmet that's not expired. Smaller clubs don't require snell helmets so check. Riding a motorcycle just requires a DOT approved helmet and anything that's snell approved is also DOT approved.
Old Sep 13, 2012, 10:40 AM
Evolving Member