Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

Drop-in filters, Evo Xs

Search this Thread

Old May 28, 2016, 09:24 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Drop-in filters, Evo Xs

I wanted to double check something since I'm still a total newb.

Everywhere I read, I see "anytime you do anything that affects the performance of the car except a catback, get a tune."

Does this include drop-in air filters? Not intake, just the drop-in variety? I got a Works after looking at some comparisons and seeing that its the cheapest 18hp I'll ever get and just wondered if it's something I should save to do with other bolt-ons so I don't have to keep re-tuning or if I can stick that baby in tomorrow.
Old May 28, 2016, 11:07 PM
Evolved Member

Received 91 Likes on 84 Posts
Just a drop in Cosworth is fine and doesn't require oil. I felt a difference with just that, a positive one. Subarus are more sensitive to a drop in or change to the intake, EVO's a bit more resilient.
Old May 28, 2016, 11:53 PM

I got Works, not Cosworth. Works gave the biggest increase in hp. But you answered my question - thanks.

Originally Posted by Napalm_Enema
Just a drop in Cosworth is fine and doesn't require oil. I felt a difference with just that, a positive one. Subarus are more sensitive to a drop in or change to the intake, EVO's a bit more resilient.
Old May 29, 2016, 12:46 AM
Evolving Member

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Originally Posted by Greyfax
I got Works, not Cosworth. Works gave the biggest increase in hp. But you answered my question - thanks.
The engines filtration is more important than even 50 hp IMO. Anything that let's in dirt... oil type filters will kill your engine
Old May 29, 2016, 12:49 AM

I was told that it didn't really matter because any particles that did get in just got combusted into nothing. It's not like the stuff ends up going through your fuel injectors....