Notices
Evo X General Discuss any generalized technical Evo X related topics that may not fit into the other forums.

P1875 Damper Sensor Irrational

Search this Thread

Old Aug 16, 2016, 11:49 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
P1875 Damper Sensor Irrational

Hi all, I'm new to Evolutionm.net just joined as I found some helpful information on one of the threads.

Hoping 1 of you with experience with Evo X's can help.

I bought my 2008 Evo X SST just over a year ago. A few month after buying her I started to get a Light on the dash saying transmission service required and fault code P1875 (damper sensor irrational).

First I will give a bit of background on the car - It had and engine replacement at around 30,000 km due to the original owner putting a piston through the head (don't ask how - I don't know), and has also had an aftermarket cheapy Chinese head unit put in with DVD, SatNav etc. I'm sure you are asking yourself why would I buy it if it had already had an engine replacement (alarm bells should have been ringing) well I let my heart rule my head as it is only 1 of 2 White Evo's in Oman...

Anyways, I took it to the Mitsubishi dealer and had them do an oil and filter change on the Trans.

The light still kept coming on and eventually I started having gear problems. The gears would often slip before engaging. along with this I started noticing other electrical problems such as after driving (any sort of distance and normal driving) when I stopped I would sometimes get the transmission temp light on and even the AFS (Active Front-lighting System) service required light.

Due to where I live (Oman) there are not many garages around with experience on such a car (they don't even sell Evo's in Oman). So I took it to a fairly well known garage in Abu Dhabi who are known for working with Evo's, they diagnosed it as a clutch issue so I had them replace it with a Dodson Clubman clutch. They said that the damper was fine with no broken springs