Notices
Evo X Tires / Wheels / Brakes / Suspension Discuss everything that helps make your car start and stop to the best of it's abilities.

Stance GR+ Coilovers Review

Search this Thread

Old Jan 21, 2009, 11:40 PM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Stance GR+ Coilovers Review

I'm going to stop thread jacking the other thread about Stance and start my own. I ordered some Stance GR+ Coilovers 2 weeks ago and put them in last week. Big thanks to Andrew at CIP motorsports for hooking me up with the coilovers. The coilovers themselves feel pretty solid, especially compared to the Teins I had on my RSX before. To be honest I had no idea how to make any adjustments to the coilovers before I put it on, which caused me a great deal of trouble later.

Anyway, this is my first time installing coilovers and let me just say that it is not as simple as I thought it would be . I don't have very good tools, so I had some difficulties. Here are some of them:

1. The stock struts have a ridiculously long thread on the top, and my socket won't completely go over the 14mm nuts at the strut top. I don't have any tools that will help me get around it, so I ended up putting the socket over the nut first and letting using minimal contact between the ratchet and socket to get it to turn. The back is an even bigger pain in the ***, especially on the driver's side where the windshield washer fluid blocks any rotation you can have. Some installs recommend taking out the backseats and there's a good reason for that.

2. Some of the bolts are torqued pretty tight from the factory. I don't have a breaker bar, but I did have a cross wrench that I used to give me more torque. I basically inserted one end of the cross wrench into the end of the ratchet, giving me one big ratchet.