Notices
Lancer Engine Tech Discuss specs/changes to the engine from cams to fully balanced and blueprinted engines!

Downshifting in CVT to help braking ok?

Search this Thread

Old Mar 18, 2009, 04:43 PM
Account Disabled

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Downshifting in CVT to help braking ok?

i dont know if anyone else does this other than me. but i noticed when in sport mode if your going a little faster than you expected and you downshift the car automatically kind of pulls back without you stepping on the break..and kinds of helps you if you need to make a quick stop from higher speeds. question is does anyone else do this? or does anyone know if this can mess up the tranny or do any harm? im not to familiar with CVTs
Old Mar 18, 2009, 05:09 PM
Evolved Member

Received 75 Likes on 68 Posts
No, it's not OK in a manual and it sure as hell isn't OK in a CVT.
Old Mar 18, 2009, 05:40 PM

well this is my first time owening a car but i do that do but that's like the only way i know how to i have to down shift to go slower if not will ****ing get into accident cuz it picks up very slow catching up speed i dont know what amby talking about does she or him own a cvt?
Old Mar 18, 2009, 05:45 PM
Account Disabled

^ no i dont think he ever has i just thinks hes known for being knowledgeable about cars..

imo i cant really see how you can compare a CVT to a MT when theyre 100% different since the CVT is just a belt what harm is downshifting doing to the tranny?
Old Mar 18, 2009, 05:53 PM
Evolved Member

Wear and tear on tranny components/clutch/CVT and even engine (since you will be downshifting into higher rpms) are definitely a lot more expensive and harder on your car than using the brakes to slow it down and replacing brake pads/rotors when they wear out. Think about it....
Old Mar 18, 2009, 10:03 PM
Evolved Member

Originally Posted by Racecarzz08
^ no i dont think he ever has i just thinks hes known for being knowledgeable about cars..