Notices
Lancer Engine Tech Discuss specs/changes to the engine from cams to fully balanced and blueprinted engines!

NA 4B11 Engine mods

Search this Thread

Old Jan 17, 2011, 08:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
NA 4B11 Engine mods

I have a 2011 Outlander Sport, which has the 4B11 and CVT transmission.

I cannot go all out with a turbo, or I will destroy the CVT.

Can you guys make some suggestions for building a powerful NA motor, with parts that are not Lancer-specific?

I'm very new to Mitsubishi engines, so I have no idea who to look for, for parts.

Obviously I need an exhaust for my vehicle, but what are some must haves to extract HP from the MIVEC? For instance, best ignition? Best cams? Head? Header? Any other parts which don't involve a major engine overhaul and will work on my Outlander Sport?

Thanks
Old Jan 18, 2011, 10:26 PM
Evolved Member

Full exhaust including headers. RPW has a good one, but if that is too pricey, then a custom is good too. Most exhausts u will see on the net are axle backs which dont do anything besides make the car sound different.

For the intake, the best rated so far is the injen CAI. I have it, great gain and no trouble with hydrolock and ive been through some very heavy rain.

Ignition is fine as is, header is unavailable yet. RPW has a good lightweight pulley that is balanced, also the LSD they sell is nice. Cams are a must, apparently evo x cams will work. Also a larger throttle body can be beneficial and most mitsubishi throttles will fit.

I would also work on suspension and weight too. A good setup will work wonders in the lancer as the stock leaves a lot to be desired.

Hope that helps.
Old Jan 23, 2011, 10:51 AM

Wait, an exhaust header is not available?
Old Jan 23, 2011, 04:01 PM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by Marshall5
Wait, an exhaust header is not available?
RPW offers two, RRM has one, OBX has one, DC Sports has one in the making.
Old Jan 25, 2011, 01:25 AM

Originally Posted by p1llar