Notices
Lancer Troubleshooting Get help with any troubleshooting problems you may have.

Power steering problem (grinding noise)?

Search this Thread

Old Dec 9, 2013, 02:45 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Power steering problem (grinding noise)?

Hey guys, I seem to be having a problem with my car. Everytime I turn my steering wheel I hear a grinding noise. It only occurs when stopped completely or at very low mph ~5 - 15. I did a little research and people commonly said that it could be due to low power steering fluid. So in turn, I went to the mitsubishi parts dealer and picked up the specified "Genuine mitsubishi power steering fluid" but I cant seem to locate the reservoir to fill.... I'm fairly new to the maintenance of cars as this is my first that I've owned so far. It sounds very laughable Im sure, but I'm a bit stumped. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

2011 Mitsubishi Lancer ES
~52,000 Miles (current)

I have attached a photo of under the hood of my car. When I referred to the service manual diagram it showed the oil reservoir located behind the coolant reservoir. But its missing?
Attached Thumbnails Power steering problem (grinding noise)?-img_1751.jpg  

Last edited by cyberhunter415; Dec 9, 2013 at 02:53 PM.
Old Dec 14, 2013, 04:01 PM
Evolved Member

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
The power steering reservoir should be behind the coolant overflow bottle. At least it is in a 2008.

I would consult with someone who knows a bit about vehicles. It is a clear reservoir a little bigger than a beer can.
Old Dec 14, 2013, 10:43 PM