Notices
Lancer Troubleshooting Get help with any troubleshooting problems you may have.

Good brand for fuel pump? And should fuel filter be changed? (100k 16years)

Search this Thread

Old Nov 16, 2018, 02:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Good brand for fuel pump? And should fuel filter be changed? (100k 16years)

My 2003 Lancer has 100k miles, I have to crank it twice or 3 times to start (or it will start right away if I pump gas once before crank), Im thinking fuel pump is going bad or fuel filter is clogged.

I think these are cheap parts, what are good brands for these and are either known to need to be replaced (known issues?) ?
Old Nov 17, 2018, 09:35 AM

I’m no expert, but what makes you think it’s the fuel pump and not something else? Total waste of money and time to change something that won’t really solve your problem. Try cleaning your throttle body first....then go from there..
Old Nov 18, 2018, 03:13 AM

Originally Posted by carlsson
I’m no expert, but what makes you think it’s the fuel pump and not something else? Total waste of money and time to change something that won’t really solve your problem. Try cleaning your throttle body first....then go from there..

Have cleaned throttle body, have replaced spark plugs/wires. Im no expert either, but pumps are very cheap and at 100k probably not a bad idea to replace? I also think (I would like someone to confirm) that the fuel filter is part of the pump assembly and not in line somewhere else. So that definitely would benefit from a 100k replacement (from what Ive seen the "lifetime filter" thing is bullcrap, because if you take one out and test it for flow/dirt you will find that it really sucks, or more precisely "blocks".