Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

awd vs fwd driving technique

Search this Thread

Old Mar 13, 2003, 08:46 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
awd vs fwd driving technique

hi all,

my name is doug and i just purchased a new silver evo VIII a couple days ago.

i have extensive experience autocrossing a 200 hp civic hatch, doing lapping days, and also several years experience racing rwd shifter carts.

i do not however have any experience with an awd car.

since i am still in the break-in period and taking it pretty easy i don't have a real feel for how the car will handle at the limit.

is an awd car able to pull itself out of an oversteer situation with throttle application like a fwd - or will throttle application during oversteer simply amplify the oversteer (power slide)?

any thoughts on awd technique from REAL racers would be appreciated. please feel free to be as technical as necessary as far as racing terminology.

thanks,

-d
Old Feb 2, 2006, 09:35 AM
Evolving Member

Originally Posted by laxEVO
hi all,

i have extensive experience autocrossing a 200 hp civic hatch, doing lapping days, and also several years experience racing rwd shifter carts.

since i am still in the break-in period and taking it pretty easy i don't have a real feel for how the car will handle at the limit.

is an awd car able to pull itself out of an oversteer situation with throttle application like a fwd - or will throttle application during oversteer simply amplify the oversteer (power slide)?

any thoughts on awd technique from REAL racers would be appreciated. please feel free to be as technical as necessary as far as racing terminology.

thanks,

-d
Well folks.. using search to find out more about driving AWD and this thread was viewed several times but never replied to.. Seems like a good question to me.

Sorry for digging up old threads but thats what happens when you "search"

Anyone??