Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Did anyone look into Karting?

Old Nov 10, 2008, 09:57 AM
Evolved Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Did anyone look into Karting?

I'm looking to get involved with enduro karting. I checked out WKA and so on, but couldn't really find any big organizations to run with (like NASA or SCCA with cars). Maybe someone can share some light and point me into the right direction.
The whole karting world is new to me. I don't even know what kart to buy
Old Nov 10, 2008, 10:05 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
I am just getting started with all of my research too. From what I have read and seen at my local track here are a few things to start with, someone correct me if I am wrong. Dont be afraid to buy a used cart to start. Preferably purchased from a shop or local track. I was told to look at the bottom of the kart for major dings from bottoming out. A TAG is the way to go, leopard makes a great motor or a Rotax makes a great motor too but requires a little more maintenance. If you aren't wanting to jump into a 125 right away, they are serious power, check out a 100cc kart.
Old Nov 10, 2008, 01:09 PM
Evolved Member

I see your from Ohio. The Beaverun race facility in western Pennsylvania (border with Ohio) has one of the country's best kart tracks. Shifter karts are about the meanest machine you can drive! also, check out grasspass.org for the growing back yard dirt kart series. Available at anyones backyard! I can highly recommend dirt karting which any bunch of drivers can create at a friends house...
Old Nov 10, 2008, 01:28 PM
Evolved Member