Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

Which would you track: Evo IX or X?

Old Mar 23, 2010, 07:35 AM
Evolving Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Which would you track: Evo IX or X?

First of all, a little background. I'm an instructor with various track orgs (PCA, BMWCCA, etc.), so I'm not a track newbie. Tracked cars like the S2000 and E36 M3 before I discovered the Evo, and realized that the Evo was what I was looking for all along.

I currently have an Evo X MR, and I just acquired a very mint Evo IX MR SE, low miles, never been modded.

Note that I am not a big "modder". I like to do just enough to my cars to make them fun on the track (brakes, suspension, etc.), but keeping reliability is very important. I'm not going to fool with making big power, because that usually just creates problems. Plus, these cars have plenty of power as they are.

So, with all of that, here's the question: which would you take on track? Pros and cons. I'm just having trouble deciding.

Pros/cons to tracking the X, in no particular order:
1. Lose warranty on high-$ parts like that TC-SST transmission
2. Overheating problems with the TC-SST
3. AYC creates neutral to slight oversteer handling feel, which is very fun
4. Slightly bigger stock brakes (larger rotors)
5. Weight: 300 lbs heavier than the IX
6. TC-SST will be a ton of fun on the track
7. Would need to do suspension work to lower high CG (prob do with the Vorshlag guys did with AST coilovers)
8. Reliability concerns with the 4B11 engine (just because it's new & unproven)

Pros/cons to tracking the IX, in no particular order:
1. Low-mile, unmodded IX cars hold their value, which will be killed if I start tracking it
2. Reliability of the MR 6-speed transmission when tracked
3. 300 lbs lighter than the X (big pro!)
4. Proven reliable 4G63 engine
5. Proven track platform, lots of people have years of experience with the older Evo