Notices
Motor Sports If you like rallying, road racing, autoxing, or track events, then this is the spot for you.

First time autocrossing

Search this Thread

Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:07 AM
Evolved Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
First time autocrossing

So there is going to be an autocross event in my town this weekend. Not an actual SCCA event so I don't know the details on classes and such yet.

Here's my real question: which car should I drive? I have a 2010 Evo SE, completely stock, and a 2008 Saturn Sky Redline with full boltons and very aggressively tuned, 368WHP, 393WTQ.

The Sky is faster. The Evo seems to fix driver error/be more forgiving. I'm an above average driver, a pretty decent drag racer even, but I have zero experience at autocross. Because of that I feel like the Evo would be a better first time choice, but then again I feel like I might force myself to learn more with the Sky. The extra power and no AWD to help me out would be a better learning experience.

Any thoughts? And regardless of which vehicle I race, any advice?
Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:21 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
i would say the evo. then you can get used to autox and move up to your more quicker car.
my .02
Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:26 AM

Runner Hot

An autocross event, wow! What a great time that will be. I have an Evo and can only image what fun it would be out on a track. However if the course is small, not much room in between corners and you took the Evo through you might feel like your trying to catch a frog with a shot gun. Not sure which one is smaller, but I would choose that.

Ah frogs are to cool some other kind of small animal!
Old Oct 24, 2011, 10:49 AM
Evolved Member

The Sky is MUCH smaller than the Evo. I wonder about the larger turn radius on the Evo.
Old Oct 24, 2011, 11:24 AM

Wow, those are some crazy numbers from a Saturn Sky. I would guess it took a pretty big turbo to get those numbers?